UFO Project Challenge 22.1

Standard

I completed my first of the UFO’s, Queen’s quilt. This quilt was made for my nephew’s daughter, Queen. I started this pink and brown polka dots throw size quilt in 2021. After I got the top completed, I was stuck on how I wanted to finish it. Know that I have my long arm set-up (Minni Pinni quilt frame and Juki tl-18qvp), I’m going to start getting some of my quilt tops completed. This is the first quilt that I’m guilting with my long arm frame. I watched YouTube videos several times to figure out how to load my backing, batting, and quilt top. Then, I got stuck again on the thread color and the quilting pattern. I quickly realized that there is a lot to consider with making a quilt.

I decided on a light pink thread, I made the mistake of winding on one bobbin. I know now to wind at least two bobbins. As for the quilt pattern I decided to quilt hearts. With using a domestic sewing machine, the length of the pattern is very small. On my machine, length is about 5 inches.

I made one pass of hearts and I was not happy with my inconsistency of my hearts. I talked to my daughter, and I told her that I do not draw well. She said that it probably looks fine. Then I thought that I need to give myself grace. I’m not going to be perfect the first time. Most long arm quilters have been doing this for years. Besides, this is not a show quilt. This quilt will be used by a toddler, it will be spilled on and dragged across the floor. I need to give myself grace to know that in time it will come. This is practice. And with practice it will come…

Leave a comment